Democracy Soup

Making sense out of the world of politics

Flashback: Do you remember where you were when you found out Sarah Palin was on the ticket?

leave a comment »

Originally published on BuzzFlash.com on Tue, 11/04/2008 – 9:20am

You voted early, or perhaps you voted earlier today. You’re done. Now all you have to do is wait.

But instead, you can reflect to a simpler time — like late August 2008.

This extra crazy electoral season has had its share of wacky moments. But one moment rises above all of them.

So as we reflect on the longest presidential campaign ever, there is only one question left to ask:

Do you remember where you were when you found out Sarah Palin was on the ticket?

I just landed at the Buffalo airport. It was my brilliant idea to schedule a getaway on Labor Day weekend, not realizing that something huge might actually happen.

Still, it wasn’t like John McCain’s VP pick was going to be that interesting.

Then the text message came at 10:35 a.m.

“Vp s palin per trib alaskan”

My ears still hadn’t quite popped. I walked briskly through the airport, staring at my phone saying, “Oh my God” over and over as if I were Rain Man. My heart started beating faster (this was a vacation??).

I didn’t have to ask, “Who was Sarah Palin.” She was on my radar if only at the farthest edges, but she was a name that I knew. I didn’t know about most of the batsh*t we’ve heard since that fateful August 29 morning.

I do remember hearing the “water breaking, giving a speech, and then having a baby after a long flight” story at the time and storing it away in my mind. And I had the Palin family picture on my computer for several months before that day.

When I had lunch at the famous Anchor Bar in Buffalo (right below a picture of Tim Russert), I had to beg the bartender to turn on a TV away from sports so I could watch the official press conference in Dayton. The TV was switched just as the event got started.

I watched the screen, now muttering in my inner voice, “Oh my God.” Little did I know the adventure we would start that day.

So what is your memory of how you found out that Sarah Palin was named to be John McCain’s running mate? What was your reaction?

Written by democracysoup

November 4, 2008 at 9:20 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

