Democracy Soup

Making sense out of the world of politics

The name has changed, but ‘new’ Michael Moore movie worth seeing

leave a comment »

Originally published on BuzzFlash.com on Fri, 09/05/2008 – 2:11pm

Seeing a movie at a film festival is a great way to get a jump on viewing a film before your friends do. “Real Women Have Curves” and “Kissing Jessica Stein” were two movies I saw months before anyone else knew what they were.

But sometimes you see a movie at a film festival, and it may take a while to get out there, if it ever does. I wondered whether I would ever see in theaters, the Michael Moore’s movie “Captain Mike Across America” that I saw last September at the Toronto International Film Festival.

[My original analysis of the film from last September.]

The movie is a documentary of sorts, displaying Moore’s 60-city tour of college campuses leading up to the 2004 election, what Moore called “the birth of a new political generation.” I thought it would be a great tool to remind us of what happened, and energize the electorate in 2008.

But I was concerned that perhaps it would never be screened. But there is an opportunity for you to see what I saw last year. The movie is now called “Slacker Uprising” and you can download it for free beginning September 23.

“This is being done entirely as a gift to my fans. The only return any of us are hoping for is the largest turnout of young voters ever at the polls in November.” — Michael Moore

There are speeches from the tour, lots of behind the scenes, including protesters, and a lot of music. I saw Eddie Vedder, Steve Earle, Joan Baez, and Rage Against the Machine’s Tom Morello.

Now I can’t guarantee that you will see what I saw. Perhaps you will see more than what I saw. Films sometimes go through changes from being shown in a film festival to when they are released for good. I saw “À tout de suite” starring the French actress Isild Le Besco that featured Pink Floyd’s “Shine On You Crazy Diamond” in a crucial scene. But the costs of keeping the song in the movie forced the filmmakers to remove the song when the film was ultimately released.

The film had two airings in Toronto (I saw the second one on Saturday morning). I’m not sure where else the original has been shown, but I do know Toronto was the world premiere of the movie.

I do wish that the movie had been released in theaters, but appreciate that the movie will get to audiences in time for the November election.

Needless to say, the movie doesn’t have a happy ending, but the drive, the passion from the voters and the volunteers were vital to that race, and quite frankly, the energy needs to be at that level if not higher if we want a happy ending in 2008.

Written by democracysoup

September 5, 2008 at 2:11 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

