Democracy Soup

Making sense out of the world of politics

Obama’s text messages (most of them) went out for VP, but what’s next for the technology?

leave a comment »

Originally published on BuzzFlash.com on Mon, 08/25/2008 – 9:46am

Dear Barack:

Normally, I’m not so informal. But after all, your campaign did kick off the text message generation with the major announcement that you picked Sen. Joe Biden to be your running mate in November. I was a little cynical about the process, and wondered if your campaign could pull this off. And the secret was kept almost to the end.

Here is the message for those who missed it.

Barack has chosen Senator Joe Biden to be our VP nominee. Watch the first Obama-Biden rally live at 3pm ET on http://www.BarackObama.com. Spread the word!

But I do have one minor issue with the process: I finally decided after writing that piece to sign up, cynical as I might have been about the process. I texted VP to 62262. Got no response. I did it again a few days later. Still no response. There’s 40¢ I’ll never get back.

Others sent you a text and got a response. And other text messages asking them to get involved. But not me.

And if you’re asking, yes I do know how to send and receive a text message.

Then there was the story that not everyone got your text message right away.

But I’m willing to forget that you didn’t send me a message, and willingly to understand the delays. And I’m even willingly to forgive the cynical nature that your campaign did this just to get more cell phones to communicate requests for money and volunteer time. After all, this was the test case for a new way of letting us know who the running mate will be.

And I do like the 3 a.m. touch. And I like how the MSM freaked out over trying to tell people in the middle of the night, not realizing that the youth you are trying to attract into politics stay up later than the old fogies. Plus their East Coast mentality forgets that 3 a.m. Eastern is 1 a.m. Mountain and Midnight Pacific, all of this on a Friday night when they are more likely to be up anyway.

Up until the end, your campaign freaked out the MSM over the whole process. Who knew Mary Schmich could even send a text message?

What about the next step? Young people see through the cynicism of gathering numbers, even if they like you and support you. They should get something more than just this announcement. There needs to be more of a reward system for the text messages they receive.

After all, this is only the beginning of the use of this technology in political races. Future candidates will look back to see what you did and didn’t do with the new technology. Oh, and Sen. Obama, I just ask that your campaign at least acknowledge my text messages when that time comes.

Written by democracysoup

August 25, 2008 at 9:46 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

