Democracy Soup

Making sense out of the world of politics

Having 4, 8, 10 houses makes it more difficult to relate to economically disadvantaged

leave a comment »

Originally published on BuzzFlash.com on Fri, 08/22/2008 – 10:17am

I had a friend tell me that this is a great time to buy a house. He owns a town home in the middle of nowhere because it would be a great investment someday.

I have never owned a home, and don’t consider myself in the market for one, even now. And most days it doesn’t bother me. Sure I rent, I don’t have a lot of closet space, I have plastic containers of stuff in my living room, I don’t have enough outlets in the apartment, and I would have trouble fitting a litter box in the one bathroom I have.

While I like what I have (mostly), it would be nice to have a home of my own. Perhaps since John McCain doesn’t know how many houses he has, he could let me have one of his. And I know which one I want: the 7,000 sq. ft. condo.

Then I realize I need to be more specific: there are at least two 7,000 sq. ft. condos, one in Phoenix and one in Coronado, California, near San Diego. I have to admit that the beach home would be advantageous since I love the water. But after this description of the Phoenix condo, I might need to rethink this.

“a new condo tower that has a rooftop pool and concierge services. The building has original artwork, a resident “party room” with a separate guest entrance from porte-cochere, fireplace, 50″ plasma screen television, wet bar and catering kitchen, business and fitness centers.”

But perhaps I shouldn’t be greedy; after all, if McCain gives me a 7,000 sq. ft. condo in Coronado, CA on the beach with no amenities, no furniture, no 50″ TV, I should be able to handle the rest.

Now there is a matter of the price. The Coronado, CA condo costs $2,705,040. Now I don’t have $2,705,040, or even the 5% deposit, which would be $135,252. But in the spirit of McCain’s history, I’m sure McCain could get me a great mortgage rate from a nearby savings and loan.

I’m sure you are asking the logical question: what would I do with 7,000 sq. ft.? After all, the total is likely more than all of my adult apartments combined, along with the tiny house where I spent most of my youth.

I would hope (sorry, being greedy again) that I would have enough closet space, so the plastic containers would be away from visitors. I would hope that the potential cats would have plenty of space for the litter box, maybe sharing the guest bathroom. I would like a pantry instead of the plastic shelf container I put together myself (not so well). And maybe (yes I’m being selfish), a dining room where I can put my dining table instead of having it in the living room.

What would I do with the other 6,000 square feet? I would let my imagination take off. It’s difficult though when you have lived in crammed accommodations since, well, at least the age of 9, to readjust to the reality of a domicile that large. But the potential cats would have a great time running around the place. I can start with that kind of life.

But the key is that I wouldn’t change my political philosophy whether I had one house or two houses or eight houses. McCain chastised those who are struggling while his wife was buying yet another beach condo. I would still know the price of a gallon of milk, I would still know that many others struggle financially, especially under 8 years of Bush economics (and 4 years of McCain economics). And I would still know how many houses I would have.

Written by democracysoup

August 22, 2008 at 10:17 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

