Democracy Soup

Making sense out of the world of politics

Let’s end Bush’s golf sacrifice and bring the troops home

leave a comment »

Originally published on BuzzFlash.com on Thu, 05/15/2008 – 12:59pm

I can’t remember the last time I played golf. I own a golf bag with a set of used clubs. I probably should sell the bag and clubs on eBay or something.

I haven’t played due to some sacrifice; I have a bad shoulder, plus my friends don’t invite me out to play golf because they don’t really play golf.

But George W. Bush has given up golf — and for him, it’s a sacrifice to honor our troops sacrifice.

I don’t have a loved one in Iraq. But I can figure that the loved ones of those soldiers have made sacrifices, too. Sleep. Loss of appetite. Nerves. Anxiety. Funeral planning and attending. Those are a few of the many sacrifices they have made. Oh, and I did forget loss of life and the extensive care they provide for their loved ones who are injured in battle. And some of these soldiers come back with an extensive list of problems and issues. More modern technological warfare allows us and them to maim with “efficiency.”

We have a president who has taken more vacation time than any other president by far, that has participated in other leisure activities besides golf, and who got us into an unjustified war where he feels he needs to give up golf.

And it gets even worse: Bush says he gave up golf in August 2003, but Dan Froomkin of NiemanWatchdog.org and The Washington Post says he did play in October 2003.

Let’s not forget: if the troops are still there on January 20, 2009, will Bush go back to playing golf since he won’t be the president anymore or will continue his sacrifice until all the troops are home? If Bush is impeached, will that speed up getting the troops home or will he be able to play golf that much sooner?

And the sacrifices we are supposed to make? Spending more than we need, but I’m sure Bush wouldn’t like how I do it: buying clothes at resale shops. I even bought my couch at a resale shop around the time of the beginning of the war, and during the war, bought a dining room table with 3 chairs at that same resale shop. In Bush’s eyes, I’m not sacrificing enough.

But this long-suffering time where Bush hasn’t play golf is testing this country in ways we thought we would never see. After all without golf, we wouldn’t have this classic insight into his leadership (courtesy of Fahrenheit 9/11):

George W. Bush: I call upon all nations to do everything they can to stop these terrorist killers. Thank you.
[George W. Bush brandishes a golf club]
George W. Bush: Now, watch this drive.

So let’s help out Bush. Let’s get him back on the golf course, where he belongs. I will even give him my bags, clubs, and any extra balls and tees. All we have to do is get the troops home.

Help us to bring this image back to our lives. Please bring the troops home.

Written by democracysoup

May 15, 2008 at 12:59 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

