Democracy Soup

Making sense out of the world of politics

I voted today

leave a comment »

Originally published on BuzzFlash.com on Tue, 02/05/2008 – 11:20am

flyers I have received from political candidates; picture taken by me

BE-ELECTED
by Chad Rubel

Election Day is like Christmas — can’t wait until it comes.

I voted about 7 a.m. (one hour after the polls opened). I was the 20th person to turn in a ballot. Since I live in a state where you vote for judges, I did have a list from an organization I trust.

We had to draw lines to select our candidate. I made sure my lines were thick and strong, though I wondered if I was back in 3rd grade art class.

We had a tough state Senate race that I decided in the voting booth, not typical of my voting decisions. My Congressman ran unopposed.

I have been drowning in telephone calls and flyers (see above) in my mailbox, asking me to vote for a particular local candidate (no presidential flyers or calls).

There is a certain local politician that when he “called,” I made sure to write down the name and vote for the opponent. Otherwise, the endorsements from politicians meant nothing.

And then finally I voted for president. My decision-making process was more complex since this is the first time I can remember voting in a primary where there was still a race. But I still can’t say who I voted for in the primary.

Written by democracysoup

February 5, 2008 at 11:20 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

